Library resources and information literacy

I really liked that SPU had a video introduction and tour of their library. I think that the online library and catalog will be extremely helpful since we are all commuters.  It was also helpful to learn about the course reserves in case a Professor posts any extra reading materials there.  In my undergrad, we constantly used journal articles for research papers and it helped to hear how to search SPU’s databases for online journals.  The online resources page and web links posted by the librarians also looked quite helpful.  I learned how to efficiently use Academic Search Premier by making sure that my search terms are specific and accurate. The information ethics tutorial was a helpful reminder of when to cite and when not to cite while completing research papers and assignments. This reminded me to always cite quotations, interpreted facts, and paraphrasing. Of course I do not need to cite my original thoughts and common knowledge, but I need to remember to be careful in deciphering what categories information should fit into.

Leave a Reply

