Reflecting On This Experience

This year has been a roller coaster of highs and lows. Throughout this internship experience, I learned what it means to be a teacher. I learned about challenges that I would have never foreseen and then learned how to overcome them. I think that the hardest part of this experience was trying to have a balanced and healthy life. To have this as a core part of a teacher’s life, I have realized that time and effort has to go into making sure that balance happens. I have seen a number of teachers burn out because of the nature of this position and I want to make sure that I don’t. The high-points of this year was seeing why teaching is such a rewarding experience. I have had the honor of watching young people grow in leaps and bounds. I have learned what it means to set high expectations and then be so incredibly excited when I watch my students reach for these standards.

I have learned how important it is for teachers to be surrounded by colleagues that push them to grow. My mentors and collaboration team have made a huge impact on me this year. They have given me wisdom and best practices that they have developed over the years. They have also been a well of encouragement that has really supported me throughout this process. I will continue to develop my best practices and classroom management because I will continue to learn. A main theme for this year was growth and I think that is something that I will continue to take with me as an educator.

Leave a Reply

